Skip to main content

Broaden Your Horizons

Discover new interests in a summer learning adventure

Choose Your Summer Learning Adventure

The new season brings opportunities to discover new interests and dive into your passions. Whether you want to explore the world from home, learn a language, take up a new hobby, or get creative, there’s a summer learning adventure at edX for you.

  • Immerse yourself in another culture with courses in literature, art history, archaeology, and more.

  • Delve into a new language with courses in languages such as Spanish, Mandarin, Japanese, and Italian.

  • Start a new passion project with courses in cooking, flower arrangements, winemaking, and other fun hobbies.

  • Unleash your creativity with courses in drawing, computer graphics, video game development, and music.

explore the world

Explore the World

Dreaming of when you can travel again? Explore the culture of your dream destination without getting on a plane! Discover the history, art, and literature of Spain, New Zealand, Egypt, and other parts of the globe from your couch in these popular courses. [The Spain of Don Quixote](https://www.edx.org/course/the-spain-of-don-quixote "The Spain of Don Quixote") - An exploration of Spain depicted in Cervante’s historic novel, Don Quixote – a Golden Age in which Spanish arts and literature reached worldwide excellence. [Our Place in the Universe](https://www.edx.org/course/our-place-in-the-universe "Our Place in the Universe") - Learn how human understanding of the universe has changed over the last 5,000 years. [New Zealand Landscape as Culture: Wai (Water)](https://www.edx.org/course/new-zealand-landscape-as-culture-wai-water "New Zealand Landscape as Culture: Wai (Water)") - Come and learn about the water systems and the ocean of New Zealand and their complex geological and cultural histories. [Pyramids of Giza: Ancient Egyptian Art and Archaeology](https://www.edx.org/course/pyramids-of-giza-ancient-egyptian-art-and-archaeol "Pyramids of Giza: Ancient Egyptian Art and Archaeology") - Explore the archaeology, history, art, and hieroglyphs surrounding the famous Egyptian Pyramids at Giza. Learn about Old Kingdom pharaohs and elites, tombs, temples, the Sphinx, and how new technology is unlocking their secrets. [European Paintings: From Leonardo to Rembrandt to Goya](https://www.edx.org/course/european-paintings-from-leonardo-to-rembrandt-to-g "European Paintings: From Leonardo to Rembrandt to Goya") - Uncover the meaning behind the art of the great painters from 1400 to 1800. [Modern Masterpieces of World Literature](https://www.edx.org/course/modern-masterpieces-of-world-literature "Modern Masterpieces of World Literature") - Examine how great modern writers capture the intricacies of our globalized world and how their works circulate within that world to find their own audiences. [The Medieval Icelandic Sagas](https://www.edx.org/course/the-medieval-icelandic-sagas-2 "The Medieval Icelandic Sagas") - Learn about the Icelandic Sagas, the single most characteristic literary genre of Medieval Iceland. [Visualizing Japan](https://www.edx.org/xseries/visualizing-japan "Visualizing Japan") - Develop an understanding of Westernization, social protest, modernity in Japanese history through digital imagery in this three course program. [Noongar Language and Culture](https://www.edx.org/course/noongar-language-and-culture "Noongar Language and Culture") - Learn about the Noongar people of Western Australia, their culture and their language. [World Music: Balinese Rhythms - Learn and Play:](https://www.edx.org/course/world-music-balinese-rhythms-i "World Music: Balinese Rhythms - Learn and Play:") Interactive Course focusing on Rhythms of Bali.
Learn a new Language

Learn a new Language

If learning a new language has always been on your to-do list, take the time to get started this season. Kickstart your learning with these courses and programs, which cover the fundamentals of speaking, reading, and writing in popular languages. [Basic Spanish](https://www.edx.org/professional-certificate/upvalenciax-basic-spanish "Basic Spanish") - Whether you are learning Spanish to study or work abroad, this three course program will help you get started. The learn Spanish program will give you a general understanding of common words and phrases as well as basic grammar, Spanish pronunciation and conversation skills, allowing you to communicate in everyday situations. [Mandarin Communication](https://www.edx.org/professional-certificate/mandarinx-mandarin-communication "Mandarin Communication") - In this five course program, you will study different scenarios and learn basic vocabulary for communication on daily life topics, such as hobbies, food, numbers, movies, sports, and health. You will also acquire the skills to talk about some current affairs in Mandarin Chinese, such as trade fairs and tariffs. [Italian Language and Culture: Beginner (2019-2020)](https://www.edx.org/course/italian-language-and-culture-beginner-2019-2020 "Italian Language and Culture: Beginner (2019-2020)") - Learn the four basic skills (speaking, listening, reading and writing) of the Italian language and culture through videos, podcasts, interviews, and much more. [Steps in Japanese for Beginners](https://www.edx.org/xseries/wasedax-steps-in-japanese-for-beginners "Steps in Japanese for Beginners") - This three course program is designed for a Japanese beginner to learn how to express basic ideas in Japanese, by using simple vocabulary and sentence patterns commonly used in college life. [Japanese Culture and Language (I) |日语与日本文化(1)](https://www.edx.org/course/japanese-culture-and-language-i-1 "Japanese Culture and Language (I) |日语与日本文化(1)") - Do you have interests in the Japanese life styles and their national cultures? Do you have the ambition to grasp some basic Japanese quickly? Then this is the course for you. [Tsinghua Chinese: Start Talking with 1.3 Billion People](https://www.edx.org/course/tsinghua-chinese-start-talking-with-13-billion-peo "Tsinghua Chinese: Start Talking with 1.3 Billion People") - This introductory Chinese language course from China's top university will emphasize basic language skills for everyday life in Mandarin speaking countries. [On-Ramp to AP® French Language and Culture](https://www.edx.org/course/on-ramp-to-ap-french-language-and-culture "On-Ramp to AP® French Language and Culture") - A three week class to boost your confidence before starting your AP® French Language and Culture class. [Japanese Pronunciation for Communication](https://www.edx.org/course/japanese-pronunciation-for-communication "Japanese Pronunciation for Communication") - Practice pronunciation and improve your spoken Japanese in context. If you are a Japanese learner, anywhere around the world, this language course has been designed to help you improve your pronunciation, and give you confidence in spoken Japanese.
Take up a new hobby

Take up a new hobby

Whether you’re looking for a way to destress and have fun or there’s a hobby you’ve been wanting to take up for years, it’s never too late to try something new. In these popular courses, you can dip your toes into activities like flower arranging, cooking, and more. [Food Nutrition & Health](https://www.edx.org/professional-certificate/wageningenx-food-nutrition-and-health "Food Nutrition & Health") - In this two course Professional Certificate program, taught by prof. Sander Kersten, a leading global expert in the field of nutrition, you will learn how to analyze and interpret the information overload about nutrition and health to help build a healthier lifestyle for you. [Monozukuri: Making Things - Learn the Japanese concept of Monozukuri:](https://www.edx.org/course/monozukuri-making-things "Monozukuri: Making Things - Learn the Japanese concept of Monozukuri:") the art of "making things" starting with the philosophy including lectures from Tokyo Tech faculty, various examples from Japanese Industry, and the Tokyo Tech student clubs. [Flower Arrangements in China and Japan | 现代生活美学:花之道](https://www.edx.org/course/flower-arrangements-in-china-and-japan "Flower Arrangements in China and Japan | 现代生活美学:花之道") - Pursuing the philosophy of harmony between man and nature, covering the knowledge of Chinese, Japanese and Western flower art; practical flower arranging skills and self-cultivation. [Cannabis Science and Industries: Seeds to Needs](https://www.edx.org/professional-certificate/doanex-cannabis-science-and-industries-seeds-to-needs "Cannabis Science and Industries: Seeds to Needs") - Gain a competitive advantage in the cannabis industry. The three course Cannabis Science and Industries: Seeds to Needs program is designed for learners who are interested in increasing their knowledge about the cannabis plant and the emerging legal cannabis industry. [The Science of Parenting](https://www.edx.org/course/the-science-of-parenting "The Science of Parenting") - Move beyond the chatter and opinion surrounding parenting and learn about the scientific findings and data that can help you make sensible, informed parenting decisions. [World of Wine: From Grape to Glass](https://www.edx.org/course/world-of-wine-from-grape-to-glass "World of Wine: From Grape to Glass") - Learn about the principles and practices of how grapes are grown and wine is made. Whether you’re a wine novice or a seasoned oenophile, you’ll learn to confidently describe wine appearance, aroma, flavour and taste. [The Science of Beer](https://www.edx.org/course/the-science-of-beer "The Science of Beer") - Are you interested in more than just the taste of beer? Discover what's in your beer, howit's made and marketed and the effectit hason your body and health. [Backyard Meteorology: The Science of Weather](https://www.edx.org/course/backyard-meteorology-the-science-of-weather "Backyard Meteorology: The Science of Weather") - Learn to forecast the weather just by looking out your window. This course will explore the science behind weather systems by teaching the observational skills needed to make a forecast without using instruments or computer models. [Tangible Things](https://www.edx.org/course/tangible-things-discovering-history-through-artwor "Tangible Things") - Gain an understanding of history, museum studies, and curation by looking at, organizing, and interpreting art, artifacts, scientific curiosities, and the stuff of everyday life. [Science & Cooking: From Haute Cuisine to Soft Matter Science (physics)](https://www.edx.org/course/science-cooking-from-haute-cuisine-to-soft-matte-2 "Science & Cooking: From Haute Cuisine to Soft Matter Science (physics)") - Top chefs and Harvard researchers explore how traditional and modernist cooking techniques can illuminate basic principles in chemistry, physics, and engineering. Learn about elasticity, viscosity, mayonnaise, baking, and more!
Get Creative

Get Creative

From drawing to video game development, there are endless ways to get creative this season. Whether you want to brush up your skills or explore new areas of art and design, you’ll find the perfect course to unleash your creativity in our selection. [Drawing Nature, Science and Culture: Natural History Illustration 101](https://www.edx.org/course/drawing-nature-science-and-culture-natural-history "Drawing Nature, Science and Culture: Natural History Illustration 101") - Learn how to see and draw nature like an illustrator. Build observational and visual interpretation skills in an interactive and enjoyable way in this edX prize-winning course. [Reinvent yourself: Unleash your creativity](https://www.edx.org/course/reinvent-yourself-unleash-your-creativity "Reinvent yourself: Unleash your creativity") - Dr. Roberta Ness, featured TED speaker, author, and one of America’s leading creative thinking innovators, shows how to spark your creativity for career development in 5 proven steps. [Creative Thinking: Techniques and Tools for Success](https://www.edx.org/course/creative-thinking-techniques-and-tools-for-success "Creative Thinking: Techniques and Tools for Success") - You can train your imagination to seize opportunities, break away from routine and habit, and tap into your natural creativity. Learn how to apply tools and techniques to better solve problems, generate ideas, and excel in your chosen career. [Vocal Recording Technology](https://www.edx.org/course/berkleex-vocal-recording-technology "Vocal Recording Technology") - We are in the midst of an explosion of musical creativity as a result of technologies that allow you to record music using your laptop or tablet. Explore emerging innovations in vocal production, audio engineering, recording, and mixing. [HTML5 Apps and Games](https://www.edx.org/course/html5-apps-and-games "HTML5 Apps and Games") - Today, developers are increasingly moving from native to HTML5-based apps. Increase your ability to design and deliver innovative services, great content and apps. [Computer Graphics](https://www.edx.org/course/computer-graphics "Computer Graphics") - Computer graphics is a central part of our lives, in movies, games, computer-aided design, virtual simulators, visualization and even imaging products and cameras. This introductory computer graphics course teaches you to create images of 3D scenes in both real-time and with realistic ray tracing. [LaTeX for Students, Engineers, and Scientists](https://www.edx.org/course/latex-for-students-engineers-and-scientists-2 "LaTeX for Students, Engineers, and Scientists") - LaTeX, a document preparation system, is widely used for publishing in many scientific fields like mathematics, statistics, computer science, engineering, chemistry, physics, economics, linguistics, etc.. It is a powerful and open-source system that provides numerous facilities for automating typesetting of documents. [Introduction to video game development with Unity](https://www.edx.org/course/introduction-to-video-game-development-with-unity "Introduction to video game development with Unity") - Never before has the video game market been at a better time. Learn to develop multiplatform videogames using one of the most popular tools on the market, the Unity game engine. [CS50's Introduction to Game Development](https://www.edx.org/course/cs50s-introduction-to-game-development "CS50's Introduction to Game Development") - Learn about the development of 2D and 3D interactive games in this hands-on course, as you explore the design of games such as Super Mario Bros., Pokémon, Angry Birds, and more. [Music For Wellness](https://www.edx.org/course/music-for-wellness "Music For Wellness") - You love music. You listen to music all the time. Maybe you sing, play an instrument, or compose music. You don’t need to have musical talent to use music to enhance your well being, and even your health. Learn simple techniques to enrich your mind, body, and spirit through music.